Coop logo Annual Report

Download as PDF

Corporate Governance

Corporate governance is based on the principle of management’s transparency and openness towards employees and the general public. In the following chapter, Coop provides an insight into its company structure.
Details on these topics

Group structure

The Coop Group Cooperative is based in Basel. At the end of 2023 the cooperative had over 2.55 million members. Any resident of Switzerland or the Principality of Liechtenstein can become a member. The Coop Group Cooperative holds stakes in a number of companies in Switzerland and abroad. Pages 103 to 105 of the Annual Report (Scope of consolidation) provide information on the group structure. There are no cross-holdings within the Coop Group. The Coop Group Cooperative is responsible for the general direction of business of the Coop Group. The executive bodies of the Coop Group Cooperative are the Regional Councils, Delegate Assembly, Board of Directors, Executive Committee and auditors.

Members of the
Board of Directors

As at 31 December 2023, the Board of Directors of the Coop Group Cooperative comprised the following members:
Joos Sutter
Markus Beer
Member, employee representative
Michela Ferrari-Testa
Member, representative of Ticino Region
Michael Fuhrer
Member, representative of Ostschweiz/FL Region
Susanne Giger
Member, representative of Zentralschweiz-Zürich Region
Petra Jörg Perrin
Member, representative of Bern Region
Doris Leuthard
Member, Vice-Chairwoman
Grégoire Ribordy
Bernard Rüeger
Member, representative of Suisse Romande Region
Karim Twerenbold
Member, representative of Nordwestschweiz Region

Members of the
Executive Committee

As at 31 December 2023, the Executive Committee of the Coop Group Cooperative comprised the following members:
Philipp Wyss
Chairman of the Executive Committee (CEO)
Christian Coppey
Daniel Hintermann
Andrea Kramer
Thomas Schwetje
Daniel Stucker
Vice-Chairman of the Executive Committee
Adrian Werren